I’m back to talk Tenderloin!

Posted: March 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

I am a horrible blogger. Please don’t shoot. I promise to make it up to you with more in depth coverage and exciting news about the Tenderloin.

First I wanted to share a little bit of change that has happened with me personally, that will allow me to talk Tenderloin even more: the San Francisco Public Press.

If you don’t know what the Public Press is about, go check it out. Right now! It’s a commercial-free, non-profit new organization that is focused on bringing in-depth investigative pieces of journalism to San Francisco. (They partnered with McSweeny’s to produce San Francisco Panorama)
It’s mostly run by volunteers and reporters that feel passionately but aren’t paid much, and I’m excited to be a part of a growing and inspiring journalistic team.

Since I’ve been at the Public Press, I have been working on a piece about something that really stinks… public bathrooms. Now for most of you that live in the Loin, you know what I’m talking about, and for those that don’t- your in for a real surprise on tonight’s article, which I will share on my Twitter and post here a few days later, (Thanks to the Public Press for being cool with shared content) This story will hopefully kick off what will become my “beat” for the next three or so months while I am at the Public Press. I am partnering with another reporter, and former Street Sheet writer, TJ Johnston, to focus on a beat that covers housing and homelessness in the Bay Area. Our goal to to create meaningful relationships with sources and the community to cover information not being covered anywhere else. If your welfare check got cut and your still out of housing, or you know about a something affecting your neighborhood, I want to hear about it.

So for a slow introduction, I am putting up this short audio piece that I did last week. I went out with my trusty recorder and asked people on the street: “What do you like most about the Tenderloin?” and was somewhat surprised at the immediate response…

Hope you all survived that blustering weather, don’t put away your rain boots yet. We get our worst weather in about a month. Mark my words.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

